Thailand Adventure

This is where I will be blogging my Thailand adventure, return to Romania, and my various other wanderings.

My goodness…I haven’t blogged in almost a year! Around the last time I posted here, I had just applied for a Lilly Endowment Teacher Creativity Grant.  I didn’t have much hope in getting it, but I figured it was worth a try!  Then my whole world started to have interesting little happenstance connections to Thailand, the place I wanted to travel to and serve.  Long story short, I got the grant, much to my surprise, and am now preparing to leave tomorrow morning!

This trip has been a goal of mine for nearly 4 years.  My friend Amy is a missionary in northern Thailand, and so much of what I teach in my classroom overlaps with the things we talk about in, I’m sorry to say this, the far too sporadic Facetime chats she and I have throughout the year.  So…4 years of building this up in my mind and praying about it have led to me taking off on a month long adventure to places I’ve never been!  Many of you have asked what I’ll be doing while in Thailand.  As of now, I know I’m going to set up some technology activities in an education center, help start an English language curriculum, and other than that my plan is to let God use me how He sees fit; I just want to serve and for God’s glory to be seen.  I’ve also been asked how I’m feeling about a million times this past week, but does it really matter how I’m feeling?

I learned a long time ago that when you have prayed for something, feel called to do that thing, and have faith and trust in Jesus then all I have to do is put one foot in front of the other and get started.  Thank you for your prayers and kind words over the past several weeks!

Here I go…see you all in July!

 

Deuteronomy 31:8  The Lord Himself will go before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forget you. Don’t be afraid and don’t worry.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

