Exploring Bangkok

Despite my jet lag, I couldn’t pass up a chance to take in the city of Bangkok with B, a former Bluffton exchange student!  We joked about repping Bluffton Track & Field around Bangkok!

I ventured out and took a bus to Mo Chit, where B and I met to hop in the sky train!  We went to Siam Paragon, a really fancy, westernized mall to pick up a few things and enjoy air conditioning.  From there we visited the first of a few Buddhist temples of the day – Wat Pathum.   B told me about how her family used to visit there regularly when she was younger.

We ate an excellent lunch at one of B’s favorite restaurants…I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves, but I’ve discovered my favorites already–> Tom Kha Gai and Sticky rice with mango!

After lunch, we took on the humidity, as it is monsoon season, to go on a boat cruise on the Chao Phraya River.  I loved hearing stories about Thai history and Buddhist legends while visiting the Royal Palace, Wat Arun, and Wat Po!  B indulged me by taking a Tuk Tuk ride and we tried to barter a bit for some awesome elephant pants (I’ll model this for a later post!) and trinkets I bought for my niece and nephew.
Now I’m off to Mae Sot and meeting up with my good friend, Amy D, for the next part of my Thai adventure with Outpour Movement.  

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

